Curriculum Overview

The Australian Curriculum and the NT Curriculum Framework form the basis of teaching, learning, assessment and reporting at Nakara. The Key Learning Areas are:

  • English (Australian Curriculum)

  • Mathematics (Australian Curriculum)

  • Science (Australian Curriculum)

  • History (Australian Curriculum)

  • The Arts (NTCF)

  • Health and Physical Education (NTCF)

  • Technology and Design (NTCF)


The Australian Curriculum is implemented via units of work (Curriculum into the Classroom - C2C) which have been adapted from Education Queensland. In 2013, units of work in English, Mathematics, Science and History will be implemented.

More information about the Australian Curriculum can be found at

PM and PROBE Reading levels Explained.pdf